Options

CISSP - How to study and prepare?

AlwaysLearning2023AlwaysLearning2023 Member Posts: 1 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I've got 20 years of experience in the IT field, 5 of which have been spent working in the networks, security and identity space. I've got a CompTia Security + certification, multiple Microsoft certs and a CCNA. I've got a reasonable awareness of information security, but I am not a dedicated security professional.

I'm looking at obtaining a CISSP certification over the next 12 months to improve my career prospects. I've had a look online and was wondering how feasible it is to pass the CISSP exam by doing self study and practice tests at home?

Some general advice and tips are much appreciated. 

Also, are there rules around failing the exam? E.g. If you don't pass the first time, then you can't sit it again for x months?

Thanks,
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,229 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Check the (ISC)2 retake policy here https://www.isc2.org/Exams/After-Your-Exam

Retake Policy

For each of the CC, CISSP, CAP, CCSP, CSSLP, HCISPP, CISSP-ISSAP, CISSP-ISSEP, CISSP-ISSMP and SSCP certification programs, there are two independent rules that govern exam retake attempts:

Test-free days between retake attempts:

• If you don’t pass the exam on your first attempt, you may retest after 30 test-free days.
    • If you don’t pass the exam on your second attempt, you may retest after 60 test-free days from your most recent exam attempt.
    • If you don’t pass the exam on your third attempt and for all subsequent retakes, you may retest after 90 test-free days from your most recent exam attempt.