EMPLOYER PAID CERTS. OR SELF PAID CERTS?

deep_logicdeep_logic Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm just getting into security field. I ended up paying for my Sec+ myself. Probably $700 including the exam. (2 courses and 4 books). I've noticed that to get to the next level, i.e. CEH, OSCP, GIAC, these are VERY costly. 
How many folks here are having their employer pay for the class/exam? I would like to get the SPLUNK CORE next, but after that, it's getting a little bit much on my credit card.
Thanks,

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    edited January 2023
    I paid for some and my employer paid for some, it depends on many factors.

Certified in Cyber Security by ISC 2 is free (for now), so maybe do that. It's an investment , those certs should give you more skills that will lead to higher paying jobs.
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

• E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    edited January 2023
    I have had employers pay for everything that I could possibly get them to pay for: training, materials, exams, annual maintenance fees. I only paid for things myself in the beginning of my career as a contractor because there was no budget for me and I could not expense anything. 
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Having an employer pay for training or certs or both is pretty much hit-and-miss. With (cyber) employee retention being such a problem right now, it's more likely employers are providing more training opportunities than a few years ago. I think Splunk training is a good investment for SOC analysts (Free Splunk Training).

• nighasnighas Member Posts: 7 ■■■□□□□□□□