CompTIA considering "Wireless Technologies Testing&quot

oldbarneyoldbarney Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just received this e-mail message and took the survey:
CompTIA would like to obtain your valuable input on testing for one's knowledge of wireless technologies. Please follow this link to answer the brief questionnaire.

Thank you in advance for your participation.

You have received this exclusive invitation because you either joined the CompTIA Research Panel or indicated your interest on this topic on an earlier survey.

Anyone else receive this? The survey asked for opinions and feedback in a couple of areas. I think CompTIA is giving it a serious look.

I'm studying, albeit half-heartedly, for CWNA. Plan to pick up the pace after this semester to take that exam. A related CompTIA wireless cert may make for an interesting compliment or perhaps a nice introduction to the one from Planet3 Wireless.

Comments

• WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Yeah, I received it too. I'd rather see CWNP ("Planet3" is their 'old' name) release a basic networking and basic security cert like, but better than, Network+ and Security+. I don't really see a place for a wireless security cert from CompTIA. Looks like they want a piece of the market, like they got with Security+ when security became hot. Let's hope they do a better job this time of they go through with it.
    oldbarney wrote:
    nice introduction to the one from [CWNP]
    If you study well for the wireless networking related exam objectives in Network+ you'll have plenty of intro to start with either Wireless# or CWNA, which cover quite a few basics.
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod