Moving from support to oracle/unix dba. Need some advice

KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
I've been working in support for almost 15 years and been studying recently for ccna (getting close too) I've been finding support growing a little old and though I am studying for ccna to try and improve my lot and possibly move into networking, I have been offered a job as a dba. This is not mainly due to my support experience but primarily the environment I have always worked in and the types of users I have always supported.

This is going to be oracle over aix unix supporting a massive user base. Though I have unix and a bit of dba/sql from my uni days, they are going to train me right up in both for several solid months so I am going to get right in there.

My question is:
In my previous support experience I have suffered from not certifying as I go and I do not want to make the same mistake again. I have no idea what certs I should be aiming for as I go. I know oracle do their own certs but I am not sure that being limited to oracle/aix would be advantagous should I find myself on the street in a few years looking for work. (although typing in oracle into a job search engine did get it very excited and some nice numbers were popping up)

So what sort of certification paths should I be aiming for in this great experience and training I am about to get? I have no longing to come back to support. I've paid my dues there. Also, it seems to be closely linked to developer, mainly web front ends, so what are the key programming languages for this sort of thing? I also have a lot of programming from uni but once I hit support, that all ended but it's mostly like riding a bike once you've had that level of formal training. It's only the syntax that changes from language to language.

Any help gratefully received.
Kam.

Comments

• bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506