Options

can I take CWNA or not?

digerati1digerati1 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi there
I have a question and for many people over here, its like stupid question for them but I'm new to this CWNA and want to know something.
My question is, I've done MCSE 2000 and then I got a technical support job that I did for 2 years, recently left the job and now would like to take this CWNA just to jump in the wireless world and advance my skills in that.
I have NO idea about what is RF and what is 802.11/a/b/g , this is just to let you guys know that I'm not into that ship before so can I make it up or just I go for the CCNA track?

Please help me out to sort this confusion.
Thanks in Advance
"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step".
Lao Tzu

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    You can learn just about anything, if you're willing to spend the time and effort doing it. If you want to learn about wireless, study up and get yourself some hands-on practice with whatever equipment/labs you can find. However, in this case, since you have next to no experience with wireless technologies, I'd say going for the CCNA might be a better choice. You'll be able to round out some of the infrastructure experience from the MCSE track, and having both MCSE and CCNA look much more promising on your resume than most other things. (No offense against CWNA, it's just that CCNA and MCSE are generally more recognized by employers, even the ones that don't even have two braincells to rub together.)

If you do decide to take your CCNA, and possibly upgrade your MCSE now that Windows 2000 has been retired, then you'll be well on your way to other things. You could go in the direction of wireless, like the CWNA, or you could go into things like Unix/Linux, doing something like LPIC or RHCE. Whatever you choose to do, good luck to you and I hope the work will pay off.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn