Options

What to put most focus on? awk/sed, security, logs?

addiktionaddiktion Inactive Imported Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello fellow tech examies :D I am going to be taking the Linux+ Exam March 19th. I've been using TestOut and "Linux+ guide to Linux certification" by Thomson Course Tech and both have been a great help because I've had no previous linux experience. I've been using linux for about 3 or 4 months now and have grown fond of its power over windows as well as how stable it is. Anyway I was wondering where I should put most of my focus on with the little time left that I have to study.

I plan to study overall everything but I want to make sure I have the "bulk" questions pinned down well.

1. Should I focus mostly on the text editors? command options, vi, sed, awk? grep, cat, etc.
2. Daemon services. I.E Inittab, Fstab, cron?
3. Security or setting up web/file services. I.E ssh, dhcp, dns, iptables, security, apache etc?
4. File permissions? chown, chmod, chgrp, umask, etc

Anyone see anything on quotas, df, mpstat, systat, apm, acpi, fsck, ports?

I've read a few posts on the people who have passed and they have been a big help. I feel my weaker points are in sed, awk, nano because i prefer vi.
Don't let a good test score fool you into thinking you know everything. After all a test only shows you how well you are at memorizing the tested subjects.

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi addiktion:

Good luck on your exam. Have you checked out the objectives on CompTIA's website?

icon_arrow.gifhttp://certification.comptia.org/resources/objectives.aspx

The breakdown is as follows:

1.0 Installation 19%
    2.0 Management 26%
    3.0 Configuration 20%
    4.0 Security 21%
    5.0 Documentation 6%
    6.0 Hardware 8%
    Total 100%
    addiktion wrote:
    1. Should I focus mostly on the text editors? command options, vi, sed, awk? grep, cat, etc.