Options

i_am_not_sure.co.uk

Hercules_UkHercules_Uk Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi - I am 27, currently looking for my first IT job and haven’t had much luck so far but its early days I guess (been at it for a week or so) – I graduated a year ago and since I ve passed my network+ and CCNA exam – in the near future I intent to go after the CCNP certification but not before I get any commercial experience.

I really want to pursue a career within cisco networking. however I am not sure what kind of job i should start with – when I look for IT jobs, I am not quiet sure what I should be looking for. Helpdesk, 1st or 2nd line support, support analyst, network support engineer, tech support and so on – to tell u guys the truth I don’t have much of a clue what any of these jobs would require me to do/have me doing or what i d be suitable for with my qualifications. I know this doesn’t sound too good

I didn’t realize the choices I d be given before applying and looking at jobs. I am kinda lost.
currently working towards MCSA and job searching..........

Comments

• Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Hi Herc, and welcome to the forums!

Congratulations on your successful completion of a BS and the networking certs. You have the beginnings of a good career.

I don't know what the IT employment picture is like in London, but be sure that you have developed your personal communication skills--people skills, I guess. IT training does not prepare you for dealing with every type of personality that you may encounter.

With your apparent learning abilities, I don't believe that you will have to wait very long to have some interviews for positions. But, do apply for all of the network related openings that you can find. Sometimes if you go to a helpdesk position, you will be there for a while, although, as a means to and end, you may have to start there to "get your foot in the door".