Life after an MIS degree

wadewade Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
First, mega diddos on the site. It is fantastic. I am a recent college grad with an MIS degree. It has not done anything for me to this point and I am looking into my ceritfication possibilities. I have a few questions. Now I have done some research (most of it by pouring through this forum) but still questions remained unanswered.

I. So I see that an A+ and Net+ cert will opt out some of the MSCA tests. Also, the MCSA cert is encompassed within the MCSE. So, is it possible to have the A+ then the Net+ then take the MCSA required tests (minus the two that the previous certs replace) and then take whatever tests are left for the MSCE cert and have it also.

II. Where do I go to take these tests and where should I get the material. I am sure it is all based on my learning ability and my knowledge base thus far, but there are a lot of resources out there and I wnat to know my stuff, not just pass a test!

Thanks

Comments

• WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    I. Yes, it seems most peopel take that route nowadays.
    II. By a Sylvan Prometric or Pearson Vue test center. You can locate them at www.2test.com or www.vue.com
  • Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    For me:
    A+/N+/70-210, 70-215, 70-218(MCSA)/

Of course, I've only taken 70-210 for an MCP so far but that is a good track to look into. It's good to see you want knowledge, and not just certs. Stay away from anything that has the following keywords:
    Braindump, pass guaranteed, real exam questions. These are mostly illegal, immorral, and usually the answers given are wrong anyway. I used Mike Myers All-in-One for A+ and Net+. I'm using Sybex and Transcender for MCSA. This site also has some great resources and practice tests to work with.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • wadewade Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Webmaster wrote:
    I. Yes, it seems most peopel take that route nowadays.