Options

Which exam first??

emsrescueemsrescue Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□
HI Guys,

My local college runs various Microssoft courses and I am thinking of enrolling on a couple, later in the year, to work towards the 2003 MCSA.

I have some experience of working with 200o server and 2000pro + XP but I am a little unsure of which course/exam to work on first.

I thought about 70-270 but in the info on the college website it says the pre req's for the 2285 course are completion of 2274, 2275, 2276 & 2277. Does tha mean I ahould really start on 70-290?

Cheers

Jon

Comments

• Options
    sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would do 70-270 first. You also have to do an elective exam so you may want to look into A+/Net+, A+/Server+, Security+, or MCDST. Anyway below is a link to what exams you can take to get MCSA 2003. Hope that helps.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcsa/windows2003/default.mspx
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Options
    sthomas wrote:
    I would do 70-270 first. You also have to do an elective exam so you may want to look into A+/Net+, A+/Server+, Security+, or MCDST. Anyway below is a link to what exams you can take to get MCSA 2003. Hope that helps.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcsa/windows2003/default.mspx

All ready reading up on the Security+ :D

Why would you recomend doing the 70-270 first when Microsoft recomends 70-290, 70-291 and then 70-270?

Just wondering becasue a few posts on here have recomended 270 first.

Thanks

Jon
  • Options
    sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Microsoft doesn't recommend 290 first they just list it first. Most people recommend 270 first because it is the easiest exam and each exam builds up on the next. 270 builds up on 290 and 290 builds up on 291. I would only recommend taking 290 or 291 first if you have experience with server 2003.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Options
    Microsoft doesn't recommend 290 first they just list it first