Certification and degree??

montanamanmontanaman Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, :D

I am new to this site and am working on getting A+ certified.

How important is it to have an actual school "degree" along with certification? My local 2 year college offers programs but I don't want to spend the money on these degrees if I don't have to. I feel that I am competent enough to be able to get certified on my own...
thank you for all of your input!
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• bellboybellboy Member Posts: 1,017
    for the bigger jobs, i have seen the advertisements requesting degrees along with mcse.
    A+ Moderator
  • timdaogtimdaog Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Right now I am a chemical engineer with a masters degree looking to make a career switch to programming. I have some experience with C++ and am also interested in VB, Oracle, SQL, and Java. Should I pursue an associates degree (I dont prefer to go for a bachelors) or should i go for certifications?
  • WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Since you already got a Masters, I think certifications will open more doors for you, and perhaps sooner. Oracle might be a very good choice, it offers a lot of different directions from db management to developing, but since you also mentioned C++, VB, and SQL you might want go for Microsoft's MCSD cert.
  • lazyartlazyart Member Posts: 483
    I'd tell any of the young guns to work on a degree. If you're a 30-something, it's awful tough to go back and pick it up.

My opinion is that you are gonna have to have certs sooner or later. The sheepskin will give you an edge. With IT stalling out like it has, get the degree and be ready when things open up again.
    I'm not a complete idiot... some parts are missing.
  • Homer SimpsonHomer Simpson Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□