Database guys, Access/SQL... my head is spinning :)

Brandon779978Brandon779978 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a recently graduated tech student trying to get my head around a little database stuff... just to get more familiar with some of it. Alot of the jobs (helpdesk/desktop support) i've been applying for require "office experience", mostly i see word and access sited, so... here i am.

Here is my experience with databases, I've NEVER used Access or SQL of any form, but i have used a custom application built for music cataloging (i'm a record collector as well)...

So i'm googling stuff on relational databases, i'm getting some of the concepts and the "framework" of relational databases (tables, queries, etc)...

My questions are:

Who the hell uses these things? I know every company in the world uses databases of some sort, and the rabbit hole does get deep, but what would the environment be like if they are citing Access as a requirement for troubleshooting... How does it fit together? Does a database programmer create the database on the backend and then create "some way" (forms?) for the client to use Access on the desktop to manipulate data on the backend server?

What should i be learning about Access/SQL/relational databases as an entry level networking kid?... i've set my career path on a MS systems adminstration so i know i'll need to get a grasp on database stuff eventually to a certain extent... What kind of stuff would a helpdesk or desktop support employee be expected to troubleshoot or train with Access?

Like i said, i'm a complete newbie to the concepts, so any input from other helpdesk folks, technicians, experienced database gurus, etc would be welcome.