Passed!

georgemcgeorgemc Member Posts: 429
LOL...by the skin of my teeth.

This was probably the hardest exam I've ever taken. My score was 760.
Had to go back at the end and finish two of the sims. I was almost finished with both but couldn't remember where to go to complete that one last item. I just went through and tried every option until I found something that worked. Once I got a screen/window I recognized I was home free.

I did strongest in "Implement, Manage, and Maintain Name Resolution" and weakest in "Implement, manage, and Maintain Routing and Remote Access". I really thought I studied well for RRAS, oh well.

WSUS, RRAS, and DNS seemed to have been the hardest hit. I also wish I'd have brushed up on group policy a little.

My main weakness probably lies in the fact that I don't work with the technology on a regular basis. My main background is in routing and switching. I'm currently working in Boundary Protection (Firewalls, HBSS, IDS, IPS, etc.). Although I haven't got much hands on with them yet either...lol.

Study materials used included:

1. This web site/these forums.
2. MS-PRESS Exam 70-291 Self-Paced Training Kit, 2d Ed.
3. Lab set up as in above book.
4. Syngress MCSA/MCSE Exam 70-291 Study Guide (I didn't use the DVD)
5 PrepLogic Video Training course for 70-291. This includes some excellent QA and lab simulations.
6. Preplogic 70-291 Study questons. (OK)
7. Transcenders for 70-291. Used as last minute gauge of readines. I also went through all of the sims/drag and drops one last time before the exam.

BTW, I got a 790 on the Transcender test that I took this morning.

I studied off and one for almost 4 months. Intensified efforts in the last six weeks, and the past week was almost nothing but studying/labs for 10-12 hours a day...with the weekend prior being the kicker.

Now on to Security+, since it fits in better with what I'm currently doing. I'll tackle 70-270 after that for my MCSA.