Options

Questions regarding certification tracks

OkipatrickOkipatrick Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm relatively new to the arena of tech certifications and I am looking for some advice on which roads I should pursue.

At the moment, I am on a self-study program for A+ and I'm nearing ready to take the Core exam. I've been doing a lot of reading in threads here and finding people with mixed successes that seem to base themselves on the draw of the questions, which is both encouraging that so many pass and discouraging to know that it's quite possible to tank the first or subsequent attempt.

The sole reason I started A+ was looking towards Net+ and further up the tree to an MCSE+CCNA land of holiness. :D

My real question is whether or not I actually "need" A+ in order to be successful in Net+ and above? What other certificiation tracks could I be looking at as someone who is new to being tech certified?

Thank you for your time and patience.
Patrick

Comments

• Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    A+ itself is not the most impressive certification. However the knoweldge gained by studying and passing A+ will certainly help in the pursuit of Net+, and other certs. If you don't know the basics, you won't go far. It's not a requirement, but I would reccomend it. It can't hurt. As far as a track you should decide what interests you most. You could go with :
    A+>>Net+>>MCSA>>MCSE
    A+>>Net+>>CCNA>>CCDP>>CCNP>>

If you do earn A+, and Net+, you can use them as an elective towards MCSA as well.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    If you have a reasonable amount of experience in PC troubleshooting and repair, you may just want to go to work on MCSA OR MCSE--and that depends on whether you want to work at maintaining systems or designing them. Also consider the security specialization associated with the M$ certs. Security is where the emphasis is heading(if not already there).