CCSP to CCIE:Security

javastevejavasteve Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have one last exam left (IPS) to get my CCSP. Then I was thinking about going after the CCIE. How tough is the CCIE: Security v1 exam? I saw a post saying they were going to offer it until April 24, 07.

How much prep. do I need for the CCIE Security v1 or v2 written exam? Since I just passed the CCSP exams, I am hoping I have already done some of the work required for the CCIE security written exam. I work as a security admin on PIX firewalls all day long, so that should also help.

I'm guessing most of the hard work is going to be for the CCIE lab, and not the written exam.

Any comments/suggestions would be helpful.

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    When I took the CCIE Security Written exam, it was the CCNP and CCSP almost equally that let me pass the V1 exam.

For the V2 CCIE Security Written Exam you may want to cover some of the "CCNP topics" on the V2 blueprint -- Doyle's Routing TCP/IP Vol 1 & 2 on the recommended reading list should be enough.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • determinedgermandeterminedgerman Member Posts: 168
    I am in the same boat...I have one CCSP exam left...SNPA which i am going to take next week.

I have already bought the next book that I am going to read (CCIE Professional Development: Network Security Principles and Practices by Saadat Malik)

I am going to take it very slow with attempting the CCIE Security Written exam V2. All my certs are pretty much renewed for the next 2 to 3 years so I am not going to rush it. I printed out the V2 blueprint and the recommended reading list for the CCIE Security. I am going to read one book after the other and do some practical stuff at work.