Options

Degree situation... What are your recommendations...

TechJunkyTechJunky Member Posts: 881
I currently feel I should get a degree weather or not I learn a thing from it due to Human Resource departments requiring it in most work places...

I currently work as a Systems Administrator and have 6 years experience. I have the certs in my sig and a bunch of proprietary certifications by vendors.

I feel as though any big company in the lower 48, (I live in Alaska) requires a degree to even get into the interview process.

My options for schooling are limited due tot he fact that I have to work full time/be on call due to my position. I love my position, but I am wanting to move to the lower 48 within the next couple of years.

My problem is, last cisco class I took locally, I knew more than the teacher teaching the class... Unfortunatly, he is still the same instructor for the computer courses for Computer Science. So I dont want to throw money towards a degree where I learn nill to none from the instructors just to obtain a piece of paper stating I have a degree. To me this is pointless and I could throw 30k somewhere else.

Here is my delima...

I really enjoy cooking for fun/entertaining. I was looking towards getting a culinary arts degree due to the fact that the program here is supposed to be amazing. I also feel I would be gaining a bunch of knowledge in an area that I need more training in. I would only be using this degree for personal use (cooking at home/friends/parties). I never plan to use this degree for anything other than just that.

I am not a manager, but I do help interview new employees. My question is, do most BIG employers HR departments care what your degree is in, as far as the interview pile/non interview pile? I dont want to spend money on a degree that I really enjoy, but then it doesnt help my career.