Entry level Network Engineer, what cert is more valuable?

CiscopimpenatorCiscopimpenator Inactive Imported Users Posts: 134
I starting looking for jobs with a CCNA and it's very hard to land one with just a CCNA.

My dilemma is I need a job right now, or at least in the next month, because times are getting tougher.

To be honest, I don't really want to be a Systems Admin(I have 5 years experience for a small business) because I want to be a Network Engineer which is what I enjoy.

I know the MCSE is marketable and with the combination of CCNA I can probably land a job somewhere. Or should I get the CCNP and hope to God that somebody hires me as an entry level network engineer, which is what I really want to do but have little experience. In all honesty I want both certifications, but I know my time is running short and I need to market myself with the best possible cert for being a network engineer.

I know the MCSE will take me about as long to get or longer as the CCNP so I'm at a crossroad.

Should I get the MCSE, which might allow me to crossover to helpdesk/sys admin duties if the times get tough, or should I go directly for the CCNP and hope to God I land an elusive network engineer position.

MCSE vs. CCNP, which is better to have for a Network Engineer(assuming you have CCNA).

-Ciscopimpenator
-Ciscopimpenator

Comments

• Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    Cisco certs are better for being a Network Engineer, and M$ certs are better for Systems Admin. The reason it's hard with just CCNA is there is no such thing as an entry level network engineer. You have work for a few years doing the little stuff, and then you get to play with the big boys.....
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • CiscopimpenatorCiscopimpenator Inactive Imported Users Posts: 134
    If I get a CCNP should I land a job relatively easy?
    -Ciscopimpenator
  • shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005