Did not pass the exam

Blade RunnerBlade Runner Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I took the A+ hardware with the new objectives (and new format) last month. I missed it by just 14 points. I was P*SSED considering the amount of time I put into this. I'm used to being a bookworm. I had a 3.8 GPA in HS and 3.2 in college - i'm not adverse to studying.

This is my first time taking any kind of CompTIA cert. test and I have some questions for the veterans here.

The test I took (through Prometric) had some questions that threw me off and certainly I did not expect them given the all the feedback I read at other forums (including this one) from people who have taken the A+ exam.

There were two questions related to the OS. One related to the device mangler in Windows and another question asked which MS OS supported HALT. That's not HAL - but HALT. Anyone know what OSs support that? I sure don't - never even heard of it.

There were also atleast 3-5 questions related to NetBeaui/POP3/SMTP/TCP/IP.

Is this normal? I dont' think these questions should be on the hardware test but then again - I could be wrong.

I've also heard some people say you don't need to know specifics on CPUs. Wrong. There were some questions on my exam that asked specifics on two popular AMD CPUs. In Mike Meyers passport book, he suggests that you focus on Intel chips rather than AMDs because they're more popular. Again, with the new format and changes made to the exam, I strongly disagree. There were more questions related to AMD chips compared to Intel.

I wrote a letter to CompTIA regardign the OS specific questions and I've yet to hear back from them.

Your feedback would be appreciated.

Comments

• RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Ummmmm

Firstly, what edition of Mikes book did you use?