DHCP

Dubb RichDubb Rich Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
I work on the local navy base as a network tech. dynamic IP is supposed to change every time the pc connects to the net. DHCP is enabled, but every time I check the IP on this machine it is the same. I thought that with DHCP enabled the IP is dynamic, therefore, it is supposed to change? can anybody clarify?

Comments

• Special_k21Special_k21 Member Posts: 155
    My experience with DHCP
    You are exactly correct. Your IP does change. But when a computer is shut down or rebooted, that IP is put back into a pool of avaliable IP numbers. The DHCP server assigns a machine the first avaliable number from that pool. So if your computer is 198.168.0.4 and reboots, its very possible for that computer to receive the same number.
    I am no expert on this....am I on the right track?
  • BJGBJG Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    It could also be that the network admin has allocated a reserved address for your pc for some reason, which would mean that the 1 IP address is reserved for your machine.

They could do that for all the tech support machines, or even reserve address pools for different depts. Considering that it is a navy base they could do something like that for monitoring and security.
  • RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Ok guys ... here's the deal.

DHCP is a fun and valuable tool, but it is also something that we need to learn inside and out so we can correctly diagnose problems. When a PC is shut down (W9x being prime candidates) it does not necessarily release the IP address and this can cause problems when trouble shooting (or moving a PC from one area to another with a different IP range) - In this case we use IPCFG or IPConfig to release & renew the IP address.