Options

Frame Relay <what is it?>

coldbugcoldbug Member Posts: 189
LOL..i passed Net+ and still dont understand the meaning of it.
ok..i am studying for MCP and come across on this Frame Relay thing again on Chapter 12 of Sybex, Understanding Remote Access Security

WAN's connection include:
1. T- lines
2. DSL
3. Cable
4. Frame Relay

Frame Relay is a virtual circuit-based switching protocol used to connect devices on a WAN.
It is commonly used with a permanent virtual circuit.

I have searched on the net, but still dont get the picture of it in my head. Can someone explain to me with a good example. What is a permanent virtual circuit?
"If you want to kick the tiger in his ass, you'd better have a plan for dealing with his teeth."

Comments

• Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    coldbug wrote:

Frame Relay is a virtual circuit-based switching protocol used to connect devices on a WAN.
    It is commonly used with a permanent virtual circuit.

I have searched on the net, but still dont get the picture of it in my head. Can someone explain to me with a good example. What is a permanent virtual circuit?

A permanent virtual circuit is exactly how it is named, permanent and virtual icon_lol.gif