CWNA Thoughts

pmalaisepmalaise Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
So.... I took the exam this afternoon, and passed with a satisfying 91%.

Found most of the questions to be fair, with very few being of the trick variety. I've been working with a 12 AP warehouse environment WLAN for about 2 years, and I think that really helped. I'd highly recommend using the CWNA online practice exams available from www.cwne.com . These questions are great in identifying weak spots, and give a great short explanation for wrong answers. I'd recommend staying away from the Boson tests, I found too many errors and ended up having to go back to the official study guide to reassure myself I wasn't going mad every few questions.

Couple observations:

I really think that Wireless is going to be very big. With no one vendor having a stranglehold on the market, vendor based WLAN certs are going to be useless. Definately go the Vendor neut route. Planet3 really has to start pushing this hard.

I also think that Planet3 has to at least give some examples of Site Survey Reports. Even if they are really simple ones, it would begin to set some kind of standard of what is expected.

Not sure I like this 2 year re-cert plan I hear about. I think 3 or 4 year would be better.

Have to say that Ver2 is a LOT better than Ver1 of the exam. I tried that about 2 years ago (admittedly when I had very little experience), and it was extremely badly written, along with way to many "choose all the correct answer" type questions where they didn't tell you how many were correct. That test made me set CWNA aside for close to two years before I could drag myself to do it again.

One final though. This is the first IT related course/cert I've taken in a while where I actually enjoyed going through most of the material. This technology is truly fun to work/play with. Now if only I didn't have to explain what CWNA was to most of my IT associates :D