Options

Cisco Switch and Router Connection to Home Network

telecomops101telecomops101 Member Posts: 128
I am buying a Cisco 2900 swith and 2500 router. I just want to see if I have this correct when hooking it up to my home network. I use cable for my internet connection and wanted to see if this is correct:

1) From the routers serial interface I will connect serial 0 to the cable modems WAN connection. I will need some sort of media converter or if their is a cable with a DB60 and RJ45 connection on it, please let me know.

2) From the AUI connection on the router I will connect to the switches Fast Ethernet port. Again I will need a transciever to make this connection.

3) All host's will connect to the switches interfaces.

Let me know if this sounds correct and If not, any assisatnce would be appreciated. I just started working on my CCNA, so I am new to the Cisco world. Thanks
"Every job is a self-portrait of the person who did it. Autograph your work with excellence."

Comments

• Options
    Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    you got the AUI to switch part right but to connect your router to your modem unless it h appens to have a serial connection you'd have to use another AUI/transceiver with a cat 5e/6/whatever cable.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
  • Options
    markzabmarkzab Member Posts: 619
    Take a look through this forum and do a search for home network. Just recently this was covered and there is a really good thread on getting this done. Good luck.
    "You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done!" - Rocky
  • Options
    iprouteiproute Member Posts: 269