"work experience"

Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
Just wondering, when you're writing a resume, should you list work experience thats not relevant? IE, i'm applying for helpdesk job, however, i have no experience in the IT field, but i am not sure if i should list my current and previous job (walmart and mcdonalds...).

any thoughts?
Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I agree. Even if there is no IT experience, include what skills/responsibilities you had or performed. Employers are big on communication/interpersonal skills, organization, reliability, etc.

Also be prepared to be questioned about your strengths and weaknesses. That one sucks :D
  • Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    yeah i got that one at walmart and a few other places i've applied to.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
  • BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Since HelpDesk work is traditionally entry-level, there is no harm in listing all your previous work experience. Recruiters realize we all have to start somewhere. In my resume, I also posted a section that included "Hobbies", that listed IT-related things I had experience with but have not been paid for (including webpage design with Dreamweaver, Macromedia Flash, ColdFusion development, etc). If you have built your own PC, mention that. Avoid being too "wordy", but also convey the message that you know what you're doing.
    MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003, LPIC-1, MCP, MCTS: Vista Config, MCTS: SQL Server 2005, CCNA, A+, Network+, Server+, Security+, Linux+, BSCS (Information Systems)
  • bobbyairtimebobbyairtime Inactive Imported Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□