Off Topic: Colleges don't understand Cisco

CiscopimpenatorCiscopimpenator Inactive Imported Users Posts: 134
Yesterday I talked to a professor of computer science/IT. I told him I work with Cisco networking equipment and he says maybe I should go for a Telecom degree. ????

This respone prompted me to think: Do the professors of computer science/IT/engineering even know what being a Cisco professional entails? I know that if I was a CompSci professor I would have some understanding of this field so I could help students.

I don't think the Telecom degree idea was bad, I just think it shows a lack of knowledge(and IMO a lack of respect) for Cisco networking applications. In my mind the Computer Science is very beneficial to being a Cisco engineer and most professors wouldn't understand why.

Bottomline: Do your homework :P

-Ciscopimpenator
-Ciscopimpenator

Comments

• KGhaleonKGhaleon Member Posts: 1,346 ■■■■□□□□□□
    This is only based off what you've seen?

At my college my teacher was called the "Cisco kid" and could easily pass the CCIE from what I saw. He lived and breathed Cisco, he was awesome...though his lectures were not. ;)

KG
    Present goals: MCAS, MCSA, 70-680
  • ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    For a lot of schools it seems that Computer Science = programming.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    ajs1976 wrote:
    For a lot of schools it seems that Computer Science = programming.

Yup. Most schools see Computer Science as programming, and CIS/MIS as networking and systems engineering. And, actually, a telecom degree probably wouldn't hurt a Cisco engineer, (no more than a CS degree that focuses mainly on software engineering). Of course, if you want to be hard-core, get yourself into electrical engineering. . . icon_cool.gif

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs