Options

Which path to take for a beginner?

KenjinKenjin Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am quite new to networking, but I have been trying to self teach myself CCNA at home with the cisco academy and other material.

I decided to go for the boot camp course in India next month to complete my training. I have been in contact with the MD of one of the companies and he said because I have no real Networking experience that I must complete my MCSE 2003 first before I move onto the Cisco CCNA?

This doesn't sound correct to me, and as the MCSE 2003 is a much longer course and much more expensive, I am thinking that he's maybe trying to increase his business out of me.

Can anyone advise please?

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    That sounds like he doesn't have any networking experience either or he wouldn't have made such a dumb statement. The MCSE has nothing to do with Cisco and vice versa. Now if he had said "Network Essentials" or "Network+" I would agree. However, if you want to do the CCNA, go for it. You don't need to know Windows for that.
    Good luck!
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    KenjinKenjin Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply,

Thats exactly what I thought, I couldn't see why I need to learn Microsoft first? I was seeing if there was any prerequisite for the CCNA before I could take the course or maybe an introduction course to get me up to speed with other pupils,

This company was on my shortlist, its now been struck off my list,

It worries me that if these companies are only concerned about their business and not the quality of the teaching.

Has anyone here done a course over in India?
  • Options
    shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    sprkymrk wrote: