Options

Ubuntu Installation

kenny504kenny504 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 237 ■■□□□□□□□□
I get a prompt at the cd boot.

Install base system type server.
For default installation press enter.

Whats that? What does it mean by base system.

LOL....i'm new to linux so dont be too hard on me. But seriously whats the difference between Ubuntu's base system and the default system
There is no better than adversity, every defeat, every loss, every heartbreak contains its seed. Its own lesson on how to improve on your performance the next time.

Comments

• Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Chances are, the "base system" refers to the basic OS with out a lot of bells and whistles. You'll probably not get any type of GUI, productivity software, or anything like that. Considering that the command to install it is "server", then I'd guess it'll probably install select server applications, probably along the lines of BIND, Samba, sendmail, that sort of thing. From the sounds of it, the "default system" is probably more of the desktop type of install, where you get either Gnome of KDE installed as your desktop GUI, probably OpenOffice and FireFox, along with other end-user tools that you wouldn't see on a server. If you're new to Linux, I'd recommend doing the default system install, and experiment with the server environment when you've got a little bit more experience.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • Options
    BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Also, one thing with Ubuntu is that there is the option to boot from the CD and use Ubuntu without actually installing it. This allows you to explore some of the features of Ubuntu before you decide whether or not you want to use it.