Degree vs HND path

Mike_twMike_tw Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I have recetnely discovered a college offering a HNC HND in Computing course with an option for BSC computing degree after it.

I need some advice on what best, taking this route or going straight to full time university. This course appeals much more to me than any at my local university.
HNC and HND in Computing

It also has the opportunity to take certifications like CCNA and the microsoft ones.

I like it also because it is part time so i wont be buried in debt as I would be able to work aswell (Im a part time web designer for a local company)

Here is more information on the course:

These courses benefit from an excellent learning environment, use state of the art technology, extensive open access computer facilities and excellent tutor support.

Four award titles are available:

* HNC/D Applied Computing
* HNC/D Information Technology
* HNC/D Internet and Multimedia Computing
* HNC/D Computer Networks

Modules offered at HE level 1 are:

Computer systems 1
Information Systems and Databases
Programming 1
Multimedia Systems Development 1
Computer Networks 1
Professional Skills 1

Each of the above is worth 20 credits.

Modules offered at HE level 2 are:

Multimedia Systems Development 2
Web Systems Development 2
Computer Networks 2
Computer Systems 2
Systems Analysis 2
Audio Visual Computing
Information & Knowledge Based Systems
Application Development 2
Programming 2
Database Systems 2

Each of the above is worth 15 credits.

HNC students study 120 credits at HE Level 1 and 30 credits at HE Level 2. After the HNC, students may continue their study to gain an HND. This requires a further 60 credits at HE Level 2 (from the above list) as well as a 30 credit individual project.

Who The Course Is For
These are challenging courses for those who wish to enter, or progress within, the rapidly expanding computing profession.

How You Will Study