Skills - what should i add

Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
Okay so i currently have my resume posted on Monster.com, its not getting views (not too worried right now) but i'm not really qualified for anything. I'm currently working towards my CCNA, and will start vista and XP exam studying this summer. What i'm wondering is what i should add under the "skills" section of the resume i have on monster? Ie, should i go through the objectives for CCNA and list some of the things from there? hum..
Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Skills would be any formal or self-taught abilities you do well but aren't represented in the job experience section on your resume. Anything you have hands-on experience doing in a front office or back office, mechanical, electrical, drafting, programming, etc. is worth listing. The objectives of an IT certification aren't actually skills unless you have practical work experience doing them.
  • motherwolfmotherwolf Member Posts: 117
    I think that would be a great idea! I was just thinking of actually starting a thread on here asking forum members what they thought were essential skills an MCSE (or CCNA if that's the route you're taking) should have or know. I know it's a pretty broad subject but I think it would be pretty valuable for people with minimal real world experience to know what a sys/network admin/engineer might be required to do on the job, as opposed to what's required on a test. There are some pretty intelligent members on this forum with a lot of knowledge to share(if they so desire icon_wink.gif ). Anyone want to start?
    And if you do participate thanks for doing so!
  • Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    Do you think it would be helpful for me to make a thread basically giving assignments and letting you guys who are getting started learn how to do things right and how to learn to fish for yourselves?