Advice for A+ Hardware

AlmightySenatorAlmightySenator Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I never really had any intention in getting any certifications, since it really isn't my field...I got a degree in computer science, and figured I'd go into programming, until I realized that I didn't like it. I've founda couple decent jobs at the moment, but found an ideal one that requires A+ certification, and I had worked a contract job (NOC) for a few months there. I figure that I may have some kind of inside track if I was interested. I stated in my cover letter/resume that I was no A+ certified, but am confident that I would be able to get it if need be in a short amount of time.

So this is where I'm at now. I went online and took a practice test (not sure which site), and got a 45/80, and was rather impressed with myself. I went through some things on this site (printers/IRQs), and was able to get 56-58/80. I don't remember, but I did pass. I figure that if I go through the rest of the study guide and reread all my notes, I'd be able to get a high 70's/80 on that practice test. Are there any other online tests I can take to make sure that I'll pass (I don't want to drop 150+ to fail it)

So in summary, are there any ways to get the test cheaper, and is there any bonus for getting a higher grade (like honors) or something?
THORG LIFE

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    First, understand that just because a firm 'requires' an A+ that doesn't always mean you need it on day 1. You could negotiate to complete your exams within your first 90 days.

Second, start by downloading a copy of the objectives so you can focus your study efforts on your weaknesses vs. everything.

Third, you may find discounts on your exams by obtaining a voucher from the link on the left-hand side or http://www.getcertify4less.com/techexams.asp?REFID={18567D5A-E590-4C16-831F-A9A584E52DD4}