How long did you study for A+?

impelseimpelse Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi everybody:

I just passed the CCNA and now I want to do A+ (I need to set more my bases).

I will use Sybex.

My main question is: How did you study for A+?

I have some exp. with computers and tech support, including Windows XP.

Thans four your comments.

Raul
Stop RDP Brute Force Attack with our RDP Firewall : http://www.thehost1.com
It is your personal IPS to stop the attack.

Comments

• eltoroeltoro Member Posts: 168
    A+ should be easy since your already have CCNA. I only studied for about 2 months for the exams and used examcram2 and mike meyers.
    Masters in Computer Science / Software Engineering (Dec. 2010)
    Illinois Institute of Technology
  • jasonbochejasonboche Member Posts: 167
    I took both exams in 1997. I did not formally study for either. I had been working with computer hardware and software since I was 10 years old. I wonder how much the exam has changed since 1997.
    VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    I was working at a PC technician at the time, and I had lots of experience. I studied about twenty minutes in the car before I went and took the tests. However, if you don't have signicifant experience actually doing the work, then do not understimate the A+. I've seen experienced network engineers, programmers, and even electrical engineers fail the 2003 exams due to a lack of preparation, and I imagine that the 2006 objectives are no less challenging. Spend at least a few weeks reading up for it, if you don't have significant professional experience. If you do have experience, I'd say spend a couple of days reading through a study guide, then go tackle the Essentials exam, then decide which specialty exam you want to take.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs