New Member looking for some advise.

Want2B_anExpertWant2B_anExpert Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone! I just found this site today and I look forward to sharing as well as gaining some knowledge.

I currently work as an applications programmer (mostly VB6), most of the systems my applications run on are Windows 2000 Pro, a few XP Pro. I have NO MS certifications and my employer doesn't support me getting any, so I'm sorta on my own.

From my current job perspective, I set up the basic network configurations for the client side of the workstations. From there I work mostly with the workstation; set up users, user/work station security, system backup/restore, unique text file configurations related to unique systems the workstation controls via unique I/O cards in the PC. This is a manufacturing plant and these work stations are actually manufacturing equipment controllers. They have unique software (in addition to the software I write) as well as MS Office applications.

Hopefully, this offers some idea of my situation.

Since I know very little about the MS certifications, my question is pretty simple, What certifications would you recommend? I'm looking for input not only based on my current job described above, but also based on the general market of what employers may be interested in with regards to an apps programmer. I feel I'm a bit BEHIND the times since I am only now moving into supporting SOAP, XML, and still using VB6. (It almost hurts just reading that last sentence to myself.)

Comments

• 7255carl7255carl Member Posts: 1,544 ■■■□□□□□□□
    hi there, welcome to the site, the usual route is mcp, then mcsa then possible on to mcse for microsoft certs, all the info you need can be found in the microsoft certs area of the forums, take a look
    W.I.P CCNA Cyber Ops
  • Megadeth4168Megadeth4168 Member Posts: 2,157