Database Administration (Oracle/RDBMS)

So some of you already know that I work part-time as a database analyst. I only have 2 weeks remaining before I am leaving to start a full time job as an IT coordinator working in a technical support/network support environment at a medical centre.

I just thought I would write a little bit about my experience working with databases, both in my work here and from my studies and what I have done. Perhaps some of you will find insight in what I have experienced, and you will be prompted in some ways.

I find that Database systems, and my academic background of Computer Science is so integrally related. I would say that programming to computer science is as watching stars to astronomy, whereas databases to computer science is much closer. Where I work, we have a scaled Oracle environment joined to an application server using JSP. Our database consists of approximately 150,000 objects that is tested and simulated on the 10g and 8i environment.

Although I have not worked with the entire system and infrastructure yet, from what I do know, it is very complex, and it requires a team of 10-15 people to "keep the lights on". We really only have 3 or 4 people who are "database aware" but we need much more, I think since working in this job, I've really acquired a new taste for databases.

In my courses of database management, I have developed multiple small scale systems using MySql, DB2, and SQL Server, mostly through JDBC, and PHP, I did not appreciate databases and database management, but I think that after having the opportunity to apply myself and actually use the skills and mindset of a computer scientist, it definitely shed a lot of light.

Even though I will be focusing alot more on networking, and computer systems in the coming months, there'll always been a place in my heart for databases, and perhaps one day, I will see these two worlds of interest converge.