Options

CCNA or Network+ for my current situation?

davidvoyagedavidvoyage Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

For your information, I'm a guy who doesn't have any I.T. certificate. I'm a fresh grad with a B.Sc in computer science. And I'm planning to find an entry level network-related job asap.

I was planning to study CCNA as my first I.T. certification.(that means I haven't start yet). However, I just learned that the new version of CCNA 640-802 will be available in august. Unfortunately, I can't find any book/video training for 802 yet icon_sad.gif

So, is that means it's better for me to go for Network+ now? or should I wait for new book and do the CCNA 802 instead? Or is there any other recommendation?

Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    StoticStotic Member Posts: 248
    That sounds like a pretty good plan. Go for the Net+ to get your feet wet and to wait for more material to be released for the new CCNA.
  • Options
    davidvoyagedavidvoyage Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thx for ur reply Stotic,

Oh I also forgot to ask another question.

I know that for my first I.T. Job, it would be an entry level job for sure, since I don't have job experience. So no matter what cert. I will get, I still need to go through entry level jobs first. So, do I need A+ for an entry level I.T job? I remember I took an intro. to computing course in University. It covers stuff similar to A+, but not all. But with my B.Sc degree, do I need A+?
  • Options
    corey1980corey1980 Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I wouldn't say you absolutely need A+ but it will probably make it easier on you when you are searching for a job. Your degree will help but a lot of people like to see certs as well. I would say if you get A+ and Net+ you will have a lot easier time getting interviews/job offers.
  • Options
    shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    Thx for ur reply Stotic,

Oh I also forgot to ask another question.