Intro and Remote desktop/Terminal Services question

qnetqnet Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I have a question but, this is my first time posting so I should introduce myself. My name is Quentin and I am the sole proprietor of a small I.T business outside outside of Atlanta Ga. I have been in business for about 4 years, doing mostly pc repair and small business network setup. I am certified on Windows 2k server and professional as well as A+ and Network + . I once was certified CCNA but - as of October of last year - it has expired. I am only a test away from MCSA on Win2k2000(70-21icon_cool.gif but, I have finally decided to pursue my MCSE on Windows server 2003 because, most of the networks I have came across are running Windows Server 2003 and, I also want to learn and expand my knowledge. I just bought the MS Press book for 70-290 and so far I like it very much.

Any way, on to my question. I am attempting to use remote desktop for one of the labs and am having trouble getting it to work. I have used and configured Remote desktop before but not using evaluation copy's of the server software. Everything seems to be fine, windows firewall is enabled but I have exceptions for RDP and port 3389 is open, but when I attempt to login use remote desktop I am unsuccessful and it said that there are not any terminal servers on my domain. I have used evaluation software before and have had no problems with remote desktop/terminal services. Both of my test/lab machines are running Windows server 2003 SP1 and I am in the process of installing SP2, I'm not sure if that will help or is the issue. I might figure it out sooner or later but,any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Regarding the certification path, just note that if you did complete 70-218, then you would only need 70-292 to upgrade your MCSA 2K to MCSA 2K3. You could then persue your MCSE 2K3 from there.