Question for 70-270 MCPs - Did you pass 70-271 easily?

examsbynumbersexamsbynumbers Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Im studying for 70-270 at the moment with an eye to 70-271 & 70-272 afterwards. After looking at the 70-271 books, im wondering if there is any point? It seems to be the same material. Or am I wrong? Any advice for a would-be XP MCP & MCDST?

Comments

• sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would say 271 is easier than 270.
    After looking at the 70-271 books, im wondering if there is any point?

The point is to get your MCDST.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • examsbynumbersexamsbynumbers Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Sorry meant, is there is any point getting a 70-271 book?

The objectives seem the same as 70-270, just not in as much detail. Some questions seem to be identical to the questions in the 70-270 MS Press book. The Microsoft Press book for 70-270 is 1300 pages and only 850 pages for the 70-271 book. I got most of the exams questions right in the back of the 70-270 book. I need to touch up on a topic here and there, but that should see me passing 70-271 if not 70-270?
  • win2k8win2k8 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 262
    I also thought that 271 would be a piece of cake after i did my 270, however just by doing some practice tests out there, i knew i wasnt ready. Remember the 271 exam expects you to do things that a helpdesk or a technician would do. Where as the 270 was more on the administration and setting up side of xp, more what a sys admin would do. I do not know how familiar you are with xp, like the different options, menus, settings, etc.. But be advised you are expected to know these everyday things in xp by heart for the 271 exam. Also when you go to 272 it covers microsoft office applications and its menus, options, etc...

Hope this helps you out,

win2k4