Options

Nailed 298: 973!

shamrocker98shamrocker98 Member Posts: 79 ■■□□□□□□□□
I smacked this test to the ground. It was the easiest MS test I've taken, IMO. I was actually
surprised how simple some of the questions were...typically, MS throw in questions with one word
difference to test your expertise. Many of the questions on this exam had clear answers and the
rest required some close reading of all of the material. I had 5 testlets and 5-11 questions each.
Time was definitely an issue for me. Each testlet has a different time limit. I was surprised when I
walked out of the testing center after only 90 minutes! My questions focused heavily on RRAS, PKI,
and Active Directory structure.

To prepare, I studied MS Press and Syngress books, MS Technotes, Cramsession Study Guide, my underpowered
test lab, and the Readiness Review practice tests. I felt that the practice questions were much more
difficult than the real test. I ended up going through most or all of the practice questions until I
really understood the answers. Some of the material was not in my books (review of past tests, I
think). I didn't even need to use my Server 2003 lab that much.

I'm now officially an MCSE 2003! icon_cool.gif

Thanks again, everyone for the encouragement that ya'll spread around
and the good information. This particular Security forum was pretty quiet for the last
few months, but it didn't stop me from checking it constantly. Now, I plan on taking
a nice loooong break and read for pleasure (I've already picked up a few new books).
Maybe. just MAYBE I'll try the 299 sometime or work towards the CCNA.

Comments

• Options
    royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats on the pass, and even more so, the MCSE certification!
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod