which exam

I have been using linux/unix for about 5 years.

I admin FreeBSD systems currently, but I have admined: red hat, fedora, ubuntu, nexenta, and suse.

I have setup installed and maintained linux/unix: firewalls, webservers, backup servers, databases, etc...

Just wondering which if any of the linux certs I should persue...

Thanks ya, this forum rocks!!!
encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.

Comments

• floppydiskfloppydisk Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
    liven,

if you are that experienced i would go for LPI. CompTIA Linux+ seems to aim at entry level Linux admin and so as other CompTIA certifications. I'm also going for LPI. I've ordered the book and once it arrives i'll begin reading it and hopefully be able to write the exam in a couple of months. I worked on Fedora / Red Hat for a while so my path as i've designed for myself will be LPI ---> RHCE

good luck!!
  • Gennosuke HIGAKIGennosuke HIGAKI Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    LPI: Linux Professional Institute, http://www.lpi.org looks nicer for higher status. They have already released Level III. A vendor-neutral LPI is a worthwhile one, I believe. I think you feel Linux easier than BSD. The traditional C shell is a bit tough for me.
  • livenliven Member Posts: 918
    Well bash is better on Linux (fedora and redhat) then it is on a default FreeBSD install.

That being said FreeBSD is a much better OS, however for me a MUCH harder one to admin.

It is a compiled OS and once you getting it running it is pretty hard to get it to stop. And probably the best thing about FreeBSD is the high level of security it offers.

But I love Linux. It is so flexable and user friendly its hard not to love it. Plus Ubuntu is really making it hard to want to use anything else as a desk top OS.

Anyway I digress... I might nock out the Linux+ while I am studying for my CCNA... Maybe maybe not....

The LPI or what ever it is called looks good, just don't know much about it...

Is it widely accepted???