Hello

live_wirelive_wire Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
greetings mates,
i joined this wonderful board a couple of days back( i am really happy i did). Found everyone on this board extremely helpful.
I have a passion for networks(wired and wireless, although i am a newbie).
I am planning to take the CCNA test in the 3rd week of september, with regard to this i wanted to know if i am eligible for the old test 640-801 or the new one 640-802 ?

some may feel that i have planned for the test early ( 6-8 weeks of prep )..but i feel confident..since i am studying like there is no tomorrow...hopefully i l b sucessfull like many of u here :) .
Hopefully i can contribute much more as i gain more knowledge day by day :) .

Comments

• ITdudeITdude Member Posts: 1,181 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the forum live_wire. Well in answer to your question, if you plan to take the exam during the 3rd week of September, then you will be in the overlap period where you will have the option to take either 640-801 or 640-802.

Should you opt for the 802, which may be advisable at that point as it might look flashier on your resume, icon_wink.gif make sure that you get the new study materials for that exam before doing so. More and more starting with the CCDA, Cisco is rolling CCNP material into the new exams for both CCNA and CCDA.

They are not getting any easier. So, yes it is possible to study for and pass the exam in your time frame, but you will need to be diligent.

As always feel free to ask questions on here and welcome again. Good luck! icon_wink.gif
    I usually hang out on 224.0.0.10 (FF02::A) and 224.0.0.5 (FF02::5) when I'm in a non-proprietary mood.

You can take either. The new test should be available on 8/15, the old test will be discontinued on 11/6.

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/le2/le0/le9/learning_certification_type_home.html
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□