20% off MCSDT tests

dan_9141dan_9141 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
I found this (after I took the tests) and I thought others may be interested.

http://www.certcities.com/editorial/news/story.asp?EditorialsID=561

Comments

• LexxdymondzLexxdymondz Member Posts: 356
    What exactly did you use to study for the tests? Do they have MSPress books out for it yet, because I've looked for Sybex books and haven't found any.
  • dan_9141dan_9141 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I have been doing desktop support for many years so I just walked in and took the tests.

Not sure if there are any books designed for these tests yet. I've seen in other NGs that people are using books on 70-270 (Installing, Configuring, and Administering Microsoft Windows XP Professional)
  • LexxdymondzLexxdymondz Member Posts: 356
    Cool thanks, I'd like to take them before the 20% discount expires I think the article said Aug 31, hopefully there will be some sort of study material out by then. For right now my main focus is just finishing up the MCSE 2k track, after that the MCDST shouldn't be too hard :D:D .
  • pandimuspandimus Member Posts: 651
    Hey dan, you know if you use these discounts the VA still pays you full price for the tests right?
    Xinxing is the hairy one.
    Not really sure, I paid full price. I didn't know about the discount until after I took the test.
  • SartanSartan Inactive Imported Users Posts: 152
    having taken both the 70-270 and the mcdst exams, it's my opinion that 70-270 does not prepare you for MCDST. It's definately about desktop support and troubleshooting procedures, while the XP Professional MCSE exam is about a professional computer as a member to a domain.

And besides, outlook express definately isn't part of MCSE XP :P
    Network Tech student, actively learning Windows 2000, Linux, Cisco, Cabling & Internet Security.