Options

Wireless Anyone??

LexxdymondzLexxdymondz Member Posts: 356
A friend of mine asked me to connect his network at work. I agreed to help but have a couple questions for the gurus here.

Situation: He has a wired workstation connected to a DSL modem and a notebook with a wireless connection for his home wireless network. He wants to share the workstations DSL connection with the wireless laptop and have a peer-to-peer network between his workstation and laptop.

1. Does he need another wireless PCMCIA card for the new wireless network at his office? Or can he use the one for his home network?

2. He wants to be able to access his work computer from the road with his laptop. Is this possible without having to get a server? If this can be done does he have to use a "hot spot" like starbucks or something like that??

This is the wireless router I suggested for him, can anyone think of anything better?

Sorry for all the questions, but I have no real experience with wireless what so ever.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Ok,

1)He can use the same NIC he has now. No worries there.

2)If he wants to access his home PC from the road he has to be at a"Hot Spot". The best program that I would recommend for remote accessability is pcAnyWhere. He has to have the software installed on both PC's and have it running on his home PC as the host with username and password for security. All he has to know would be his external IP address and that's it!!!