Options

New here

ParmenidesParmenides Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey, I just have some questions. I'm looking to begin the IT career experience. So, I'm looking at entry level work to get in. 5 years ago I received a Bachelor's in Math: computer science, which is like a hybrid math computer degree (18 credit hours in computer courses).

After much deliberation, I'm about 95% sure I want to go the networking route. With no IT job experience and a 5 year old degree, what do you think is the best route for me to take? Regardless, of where I go, I know I have plenty of reading to do.

Since I have no experience, I probably need a slightly indirect route towards networking.
Is it wisest to get the A+ cert, then start looking for a helpdesk position? Would network+ and an MCP be the next step to get my foot in the door (and/or to get my feet wet) or should I skip it all and try the CCNA? I took one class in networking in College.

How important is the A+ in my position? Would I be having a hard time getting my foot in the door if I bypass the non-networking specific certs?

Comments

• Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If it were me:

I would for for some FORMAL training - probably classes at your local CC in line with their AAS in networking or computer systems or what have you would be cheapest. I would start out with A+ or MCP and go from there. Definately start taking some beginning network classes too.

I actually hold a similar degree (though more CS concentrated, still programming oriented), and supplemented my work with a CCNA course when I realized I didn't want to be a programmer, this helped me land my first job as an intern with a local computer consulting shop that developed into a full time job. I'm not saying jump into the CCNA right now (I think I am an exception to the rule) , the point is supplemental training will be of help.