hi guys, I am new to CCNP and I need some advice.

jlau2001jlau2001 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi guys.

I am going to start my CCNP soon. Here are my questions.

1. I am working in a VOIP company, so I got 2 CISCO 1760 and 1 2500 routers. The problems is I don't have any cisco switch at all. So how many more cisco equipment need to get in order to start my own lab ??

2. Now I am going to pick one of the topcis to study, they are BSCI, BCMSN, ISCW, ONT and I saw I can be CCNP by just completing 3 exams (642-892 composite, ISCW, ONT) instead of 4 exams (BSCI, BCMSN, ISCW, ONT). I am not sure, should I complete CCNP with 3 exams or just 4 exams ??

3. Regarding to question 2, I am thinking I will start studying either BSCI or BCMSN. what kind of text books should I get. I got Cisco CCNP BSCI 642-901 study guide, I am not sure but I am having a feeling that this text is being obsolete.. because it is 2006. Is there a huge difference between Study guide 2006 and 2007 ?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    For the BCMSN you are going to need at least three switches, preferably one L3 switch.

I would suggest taking the 4 exam method if you are new to the subjects unless money is a concern. The combined will save you $125.

I'm a big fan of Ciscopress books for study. You should always get more than one perspective on things though. The newest BSCI book is dated 2007, but I'm not sure how outdated the 2006 version is.

Good luck with your journey!!!!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You can get by with what you currently have but it would be a stretch and would make learning a bit more difficult. I'd advise that you add at least one 2600 series router to your current setup and don't worry about any switches yet. You don't need any switches for the BSCI and that's the first place most people start when preparing for the CCNP exams.