how high can I earn as network admin?

I'm trying to have an idea of how much can I earn as a network admin. I have a bachelor degree in Management (MIS), an advanced diploma in networking and have worked in IT for about six years (I've worked part time before that for another 5 years when I was young). About four months finally got an actual networking job where I only deal with routers, switches, firewalls, QoS, traffic optimization both a the branch-office and core levels. Although, I'm still learning, it seems that I will stay in networking indifinetely. Unless.

Unless there is a reason (and a chance) for me to do something else. In the next few years, I plan to get industry certifications and study advanced networking. But I have to pay my student loans as wells icon_sad.gif So, how much [on average] can I expect? What are the chances of me moving to another IT area if my resume is full of networking experience/training?

Comments

• royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Depends on where you live and your skill level. Honestly, I know idiots who have been in the IT field for 15 years and they earn 6 figures due to how long they have been in the field. I've seen several Exchange related jobs that want 7 years of experience from a gifted individual and are willing to pay $90,000-110,000 in the downtown Chicago area. Seldom do I see those jobs, but they are out there. Keep looking and you might see these pop up from time to time. This is the time to have your resume in top notch shape, have a good list of references ready, perhaps have a portfolio ready of the work you have done, and make sure you study up on questions/answers that someone might ask in an interview. When these opportunities come up, you need to make sure you will amaze them so they will pick you out of the large crowd.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • binarysoulbinarysoul Member Posts: 993
    Thanks for the advice.