Transitioning military

justus1justus1 Member Posts: 85 ■■□□□□□□□□
I was wondering if I could get some advice on what I should focus on for my last year in the military (certs, training, .etc), what positions I should be looking for, and a reasonable salary range once I separate. A little background on me: I have 8+ years of experience in the Navy, the first three in telecom/sysadmin and the last 5.5 in information security; I have served and an Information Systems Security Officer the whole time in infosec; I have a couple security certs so far; I am working on a degree in infosec; I do have a lot of managerial experience (probably 7 of the last 8 years). Any ideas what types of position and locations I should shoot for? Thank you for your time.

Comments

• forbeslforbesl Member Posts: 454
    When do you ETS?
  • justus1justus1 Member Posts: 85 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I ETS in January 2009.
  • empc4000xlempc4000xl Member Posts: 322
    Im in the same boat as you, I get out next year myself. But one of the things I have learned to do is to network. Meet as many contractors as you can. These people are golden. Also decide what you want to do. I worked at a Tomahawk and GCCS tech for most of my time in, so my strong areas are network admin, but I want to move to Cisco side of the house. So I have been using my networking once again, to get some OJT done which I can put on my resume. Also stay on top of your clearance, the DC/VA/MD area have a lot of jobs in IT, but I don't know if thats your cup of tea, but with a clearance and experience, you should be golden. I got more, buts been a long day, but I have been working on this transition for a while, so I can share with you what I have learned and still learning.
  • LaminiLamini Member Posts: 242 ■■■□□□□□□□
    dont get out.

heres who you will compete with when you get out: