Just some thought about certifications

i have been wondering why there is so much resistance to computer certifications
i work in an environment were most here dont have certifications but have experience
the guys here are knowledgeable about what they do but when the topic of certs comes up in convo the claws come out
i understand that hr types rely on certs as a sort of filter for prospective employees but what i dont get is the whole attitude towards certs
i have a non it degree so for me the certs are a way for me to improve my knowledgebase to help me do my job better and to prepare for the future
like i said these a some random thoughts i have been having about the certification arena and it in general

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I think some people look down on certifications because they don't have them! Anyone who gets them think they are a good way to prove your knowledge and get you that interview. Experience is good, but experience backed up by a cert is better in my opinion. Even better, degree, experience and certs are the best combination!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • tjcassertjcasser Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I think it varies widely by the type of cert, actually.

I've noticed that there's widespread acceptance of the administrative-end certifications - from DBA's to system administrators, those certifications seem to be fairly accepted, and even sought after by employers. The acronyms for those certs are often included in ads for positions and are seen as requirements. On the other hand, I think I've noticed a more dismissive attitude towards programming certifications. I see few ads that mention them, and most of my coworkers don't seem to know quite what to make of them. It's only recently that a few of them are starting to change their opinions as it shows some form of continuing education after college.