how to get started

evangeline_eleanorevangeline_eleanor Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody. I'm still a student and I want to get started on passing some of the cetificates, to easier find a job after I finish my university.

What I'm interested in: internet, security, linux

Now, I would like to know what exams should I take in order to be any closer to my interesations.

I don't have any certificate yet.

Can you please advise me where to start: I was thinking about this:

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/ccie/security/index.html

or

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcse/default.mspx

is anything else related to security? I would like to thank you in advance. Thanks

Comments

• DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
    LOL

Do you have any idea as to how hard/advanced the CCIE is? It has been said that it is THE hardest cert in the IT industry. People with 4-5 years of experience fail it. Takes a $300 written exam to be eligible to attempt for the cert. If you pass then you go for a $1250 8 hour lab exam. Check out Wikipedia for more info.

What is your level of knowledge? I am in high school and I have started to learn networking. I got some training videos and they are going to teach me through. I am doing a NEtwork+ right now.

My suggestion is to first identify FOR SURE what your interest is. You said security and Internet. Well you should dientify for sure as to what you want to do, not just a general idea as to what you like. For example you would want to go into Programming or Networking etc so you can follow a standard path of education similar to most people in the same field.

If you can seem to be able to do this then there should be no problem. What you can do is learn for the Comptia certs. They are low end, cheap and shouldnt take too much time. So you can do each one of them and then follow which ever one you found most interesting.