Options

Networking Path questions

jhcarrelljhcarrell Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for the Network+ exam which I hope to take soon. After that, I was looking at CCNA & CCNP to help give me a solid foundation from which to launch my career. Are there any other certifications I should consider along with those mentioned above?

I'm in college at the moment on Uncle Sam's dime (thank you GI Bill), but have just about decided that certification would be the more practical route for my career goals.

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,029 Admin
    jhcarrell wrote:
    Are there any other certifications I should consider along with those mentioned above?
    The CompTIA Security+ is a good one to consider. Security+ is always a concern in IT and Microsoft and the DoD recognizes the Security+ cert.
    jhcarrell wrote:
    I'm in college at the moment on Uncle Sam's dime (thank you GI Bill), but have just about decided that certification would be the more practical route for my career goals.
    This is a very bad move. STAY IN COLLEGE! Certifications are not a replacement for a college degree. You need both and can do both at the same time. Many people at TechExams.net--including myself--do both while we gain practical experience from working at our careers.
  • Options
    IllusionkingIllusionking Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm going to agree with JDMurray

Certs are important, but so are degrees.
    Heck you aren't even paying for school, leech it as much and as long as you can. If you get tired of studying curricular IT move on to management studies.

Always aspire for the biggest and greatest. It could mean the difference between a 50K per year administration job and a 180K per year Chief Financial Officer.

Be an overachiever, set your goals high.
    MCP/MCSA/MCSE
    Done: 70-270, 70-290, 70-291, 70,293, 70-294, 70-298, 70-299,
    A.S. Electronic Engineering
    A.S. CIS
    A.S. Social/Behavioral Sciences