Is tech support/help desk the only way in?

ParmenidesParmenides Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Where I am living, the help desk/tech support type jobs are few and usually seem to have a lot of applicants (many with great experience).

In my situation, I have no IT job experience. I would have no problem starting out at rock bottom with a help desk position. No problem at all! It is what I'm looking for.

However, it seems as if there are too many people available for the helpdesk positions, but not enough people for the higher level positions (not too high!) that have more requirements. In the event that I don't get a helpdesk job for a year (and I have to work another type of job) could I go other job routes that lead towards a network admin type position?

Aside from getting paper certifications, what else can I do in the mean time?

Comments

• SieSie Member Posts: 1,195
    Theres no harm in applying for the higher positions if theres just one or two points that you dont have. You never know you may dazzle them and you can always be trained up on the other areas.
    Foolproof systems don't take into account the ingenuity of fools
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    If the company develops software, try to get in as a software tester (Software Quality Assurance). The pay usually isn't great and the work can be boring, but it gets you in in the door and you can try and transfer to other departments from there. Working in SQA is also a great way to learn the company's products.
  • Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    You're not alone, i don't plan on doing helpdesk either. i'm just not the type of person that would do well there.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Parmenides wrote:
    Where I am living, the help desk/tech support type jobs are few and usually seem to have a lot of applicants (many with great experience).