Newbie! Some questions.

jeffs42885jeffs42885 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All, I am somewhat "new" to this forum. I have been registered since 2004, but haven't posted anything.

I have a few questions about certifications, suggestions are welcomed as i would like to be somewhat pointed in the right direction.

I have an A.S. In Computer information technology. I am currently studying Network Security at Penn State University, and I am the lead computer technician for a computer company. I also have my A+, and as of today, I am MCP Certified in windows XP (70-271). They are also going to be paying for my 70-260 for vista and god knows what else.

I have all the skills needed for network plus, and security plus but no cash to take the test. I checked online they are like 230.00 or so, and thats a bit steep right now. But anyways, here is wha t I would like to get in the next few months

Network +
Security +
MS 70-260
MS 70-272 *So i can have MCDST*

What else should I be looking for. How do these courses tie into an MCSE/MCSA? What courses do you all reccomend i take. I took classes on 2003 server when I got my associates degree, and most of it is still fresh (AD/EXCHANGE/DNS/DHCP/Etc.)

Also, i see that A+ has changed, can someone give me a quick line on what has changed? And how can i get those comptia tests cheaper..they are SO Expensive!

Thanks all!
AH!

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    CompTIA IS THE DEVIL!!!!!! They over charge for entry level certs.....

If you would like to get the MCSA\MCSE check out this topic which will give you the links to all info you need!
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=470