Where do you think i should start?

ammour86ammour86 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I was just wondering if you guys can give me some advise.

I am actually a hotel management student, however, i am interested a lot in IT.

I have done my internship in the IT department of a hotel and went through a basic training on running an IT department managing a Windows 2003 Network of about 250 users. I am familiar with the big picture of how these systems work now.

So IT being one of my major interests, i thought I'll need some sort of certification if i ever needed to work in that field in the future, and some friends advised me to do the MCSE.

I have looked at the program and my plan is to self train myself throughout it.

What i need you help with is advise on where to start. Which exam i should do first and which exams i should do last so that i can slowly build up on my knowledge rather than starting at a point where i would get confused.

Can you help me?
Thank you,
Amro

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the site ammour86. :)

I would suggest starting with some basics like Network+ and A+, which can then later be applied as an elective to the MCSA. That will give you a real good grounding for anywhere you decide to go from there. I would then suggest doing 70-270 for XP (unless you prefer working with Vista) followed by 70-290 for Server 2003. That should be a good start, as you'll only be one exam away from MCSA. Then MCSE is just around the corner!

Good luck. :)
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • NinjaBoyNinjaBoy Member Posts: 968
    Like sprkymrk said do your A+, N+, MCDST and maybe up to the MCSA. Once you get industry experience, then go for your MCSE. Remember:
    Microsoft wrote:
    MCSE candidates should also have at least one year of experience implementing and administering network operating systems and desktop operating systems.