Options

Help me in choosing the networking course

mohamed81mohamed81 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Professionals

Am a post graduate in Physics and i would like to do a course in networking. Am in dilemma in

choosing the certification (MCSA/MCSE/CCNA/etc.). icon_confused.gif I have no knowledge about networking.

Please throw light on the following:

1. Which certification will fetch me a job (am planning to visit Dubai for employment in 4
months)?

2. Whether CCNA is for Linux platforms only? Also, if possible, please distinguish MCSE and
CCNA.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    CCNA is for routing and switching (Cisco Certified Network Associate) and MCSA\MCSE is for microsoft systems (Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator\Engineer). If you don't have any IT experience it is highly unlikely you will finish a MCSA\MCSE in four months. The CCNA is possible to finish in four months, but you are not likely to get a job working with routers and switches with no IT experience regardless of the certification you have. I would suggest you look into starting with a microsoft client exam and go from there. You could also start with the A+ and N+ which will also count for the elective on your MCSA. Certifications are not a key to a job especially if you have zero experience.

Also CCNA has nothing to do with Linux......
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    icon_rolleyes.gif
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options
    ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□